puppet network module 3.2.0

Today, I am releasing a feature update to my Red Hat network module to the Puppet Forge. This update adds support for Ethernet bridging (br0) of regular (eth0) and bonded (bond0) interfaces. Bridges can have either static or dynamic IP assignment and you can configure the use of Spanning Tree Protocol (STP), the bridge forward delay time, and the BRIDGING_OPTS paramteter.

network::if::bridge { 'eth0':
  ensure => 'up',
  bridge => 'br0'
}

network::bridge::static { 'br0':
  ensure        => 'up',
  ipaddress     => '10.20.30.8',
  netmask       => '255.255.255.0',
  stp           => true,
  delay         => '0',
  bridging_opts => 'priority=65535',
}

https://forge.puppetlabs.com/razorsedge/network

https://github.com/razorsedge/puppet-network

Let me know if you have any feedback!

About Michael Arnold
This is where I write about all of my unix hacking experiences so that you may be able to learn from my troubles.

7 Responses to puppet network module 3.2.0

  1. James says:

    Hi,
    Thanks for this module. I have a problem and I hope you can help me. I can’t import all the network’s module subclasses in The foreman. Can you give me some clues to solve this issue ?

    Regards.

  2. James says:

    Thanks for the answer. I am not feeling very easy with defined types in puppet. Can you give me an example how to use your module ? Do I have to create a file with the create_resources() procedure ?

    • There are plenty of examples in the README.md file. I am not very familiar with the create_resources() function. My personal environment is small, so I just put the defines in each node’s own manifest.

  3. James says:

    Hi. I have found a solution for my previous questions . I have one one : How can I set up vlan ? Do you have an idea ?

    Thanks again 🙂

    • VLAN support is mostly present in this release, it just is not documented. There is also a fix required if you are depending on automatic MAC address discovery. If you want the raw code see the Github page. Otherwise I will try and get a new release out one of these weeks.

    • Alon says:

      can you please share the info of the solution?
      same issue here …
      Thanks,

Leave a Reply

